The Blessedness of Answered Prayer

Psalm 28:1-2 “To you I will cry, O Lord my Rock: Do not be silent to me, Lest, if You are silent to me, I become like those who go down to the pit. Hear the voice of my supplications When I cry to You, When I lift up my hands toward Your holy sanctuary. Psalm 30:1 I will extol You, O Lord, for You have lifted me up, And have not let my foes rejoice over me. O Lord my God, I cried out to You, and You healed me. O Lord, You brought my soul up from the grave; You have kept me alive, that I should not go down to the pit.

How many times have you prayed and gotten exactly what you asked Abba (our Heavenly father) for? If you are like me, I know I couldn’t possibly begin to sit down and count the blessings he has given to me, they are endless! Now, recall how many times you prayed for something and he didn’t answer. I’m reminded of the Garth Brooks classic song “Unanswered Prayers”…goes a little something like this…In the first verse he sings about how he and his wife go to a football game and they run into his high school sweetheart and he thinks back to how much he had longed to marry this girl many years before meeting his wife and that this was his prayer and then the chorus comes along and he sings “Sometimes I thank God for unanswered prayers! Remember when your talking to the man upstairs and just because he doesn’t answer doesn’t mean he don’t care. Some of God’s greatest gifts are unanswered prayers.” While Garth has a beautiful song here, he fails to mention one obvious thing, he got an answer…God said No.

How many times, have we gotten so upset with our heavenly father because he hasn’t answered our prayer, just exactly how we’ve asked? Or in the timing in which we’ve requested? Our human nature is to want “it” (that person, place or thing) right now! I’m reminded of the passage in Isaiah 55:8-9 that says “For My thoughts are not your thoughts, Nor are your ways My ways,” says the LORD. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, So are My ways higher than your ways, and My thoughts than your thoughts”. Abba knows whats best for us today, tomorrow, next month, next year, always. He sees into the future, we cannot. Our human eyes only see what we want to see.

We so long for that person, place or thing and sometimes he says Yes. We pray and say “Lord, bless me with a child!” and he gives you 19!!!!! (Shout out to the Duggar family!! God bless you!) We pray and say “Heavenly Father, I want to meet my soulmate, the one you made just for me and the next thing you know you’ve drank six pots of coffee with that person at Denny’s and five months later your married and the rest is history! (I love you Jon!) Other times, you pray and say “Lord I’d like to buy this house, the payments work into our budget and it’s perfect for our family!!! Please bless us with it!!” What you don’t know, but HE does, is that the company you work for is getting ready go bankrupt and shut its doors and you are going to lose your job and be unemployed and he sees this and doesn’t want you to struggle making those payments. He knows that right NOW just isn’t good timing and his answer is No. Yes is a blessing! Praise him!!! The answer of No is still a blessing. Don’t mistake that and forget to thank HIM or praise him in that too! Thank HIM for looking out for you!

A couple of years ago, my husband and I longed to relocate to another place, everything seemed perfect. We prayed and prayed and finally got our answer from God and it was No and we were devastated. Torn down, falling apart, on our faces crying out why, devastated! At the time we couldn’t see what God had planned but sitting here in Rocky Mount today, full of God’s spirit, maturing in faith, we see now why his answer then was No.

Final thought: Do you serve God with a thankful/praiseful heart? Regardless of whether he has answered Yes or No?

Abba Father, thank you for your many blessings, the yes’ and the no’s. Help us to always remember that your plan for us is perfect and you have our very best interests at heart. Bless us with the opportunities to wait patiently upon you. In Jesus name! Amen.

Published in: on September 2, 2009 at 2:31 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wailingintodancing.wordpress.com/2009/09/02/the-blessedness-of-answered-or-unanswered-prayer/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Awesome! Great post, I am looking forward to many many more of these!

    "And God is able to make all grace abound toward you, that you, always having sufficiency is all things, may have an abundance for every good work." 2 Cor 9:8

  2. PS- I love you more!

  3. Renee this is a wonderful blog! The Lord used you to speak to me. My devotional this morning was ps 30:10-12 even before I saw your blog. Things like this excited me! thank you so much!


Leave a Reply

  • TwitterChatter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

