The One True Love

Some of my earliest childhood memories involved Barbie and Ken dolls, playing make believe with my childhood friends. We would have pretend Barbie and Ken weddings and in only a few short hours Barbie and Ken’s whole life would have played out on my bedroom floor. They would have a lavish wedding ceremony complete with dancing and a beautiful wedding cake. Then they would make their way to a pretty home in the suburbs and Barbie would soon find out she was pregnant and they would have a child. Day in and day out we played make believe like this with Barbie and Ken. Later on I found myself wishing these same make belief plans for myself.

In my early adult years I became fixated on the idea of marriage and family, while there is nothing wrong with wanting to have a husband and family, I was missing THE ONE whose very existence brings life to family. While I was searching for true love, I was missing out on that ONE TRUE LOVE, THE TRUE LOVE. See I had been raised in church all my life but never really knew Jesus. Yes, I had religion but I had no relationship. The two are very different. With religion, its a practice, something you do out of obligation. Just another thing on your to-do list, per se. With relationship, you choose to seek God because of who HE is, not what HE does, it’s not something you do out of obligation but out of joy and love for HIM. In my earliest memories as a child, I was raised to believe that God was this mean, hateful being in the sky that would reach down and strike me if I did wrong, so as I grew older, I went to church out of fear; I didn’t go because I loved HIM and wanted to worship HIM.

It wasn’t until February 29, 2004 that I saw God’s love for the very first time. I was sitting in a movie theatre in Greensboro, NC viewing The Passion Of The Christ. For the first time in my entire life, I saw God’s love for me. It was as if God took me by the hand and said “See Renae, this is what I’ve been trying to show you, I love you, I sent my son to die for YOU.” I was gripped emotionally! I’ll never forget the feeling of guilt, the overwhelming pit in my stomach and tears that fell off my cheeks that day. I’ll never forget that day because it’s the day I accepted Jesus into my heart as the LORD of my life. I accepted his forgiveness and his never ending mercy. I took all of my guilt, my shame, my SIN and nailed it to the Cross that day and he forgave me and accepted me as his child. I finally found that One True Love. My husband and children soon followed, thank you Jesus. All the glory and thanks for them goes to HIM.

Dearest Reader, HE is the missing link and if you don’t know HIM, YOU ARE MISSING OUT! I desired so many years to seek fulfillment in other relationships when what I needed all those years was HIM. HE will fill every void, every heartache. HE will right your wrongs. HE won’t let you down, HE won’t mislead you. (Proverbs 18:24 tells us “there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.) I promise you, HE is that friend.

Do you know HIM? If not, would you like to know HIM? Believe it or not, HE already knows you. He’s just waiting for you to ask HIM into your heart. Would you call on HIM today?

John 3:16 says “For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.

Romans 10:9 tells us “That if you confess with your mouth, ‘Jesus is Lord,’ and believe in your heart that God raised Him from the dead, you will be saved.”

Here is how you can receive Christ:
1.Admit your need (I am a sinner).
2.Be willing to turn from your sins (repent).
3.Believe that Jesus Christ died for you on the Cross and rose from the grave.
4.Through prayer, invite Jesus Christ to come in and control your life through the Holy Spirit. (Receive Him as Lord and Savior.)

How to Pray:
Dear Lord Jesus,I know that I am a sinner and need Your forgiveness. I believe that You died for my sins. I want to turn from my sins. I now invite You to come into my heart and life. I want to trust and follow You as Lord and Savior. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

If you prayed this prayer, The Bible says… Romans 10:13 “Whoever calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.”

Father, I pray for those that may have stumbled upon this blog and accepted you as the LORD of their life because of it. I pray that they have the courage to walk in their new faith, I pray that you will lead them to a church where they can grow and learn more about YOU. I praise you Father because it is all about YOU! For those that may have read this blog and already know YOU, Lord I thank you for them as well, I pray that this message will touch their lives and strengthen them, renew their spirits Lord and remind them of that very special day that you changed them forever! In Jesus Name, Amen!

Published in: on September 12, 2009 at 9:10 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wailingintodancing.wordpress.com/2009/09/12/the-one-true-love/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

  • TwitterChatter

    Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

