Open mouth, Insert Spoon

There’s nothing like a nice, heaping spoonful of your own advice; I had to take several spoonfuls of my own just yesterday. I found that my advice rolled off my tongue a little sweeter when giving it to someone else who needed it but was a little more difficult to swallow in my situation. While it was equally truthful and most certainly effective, I wanted to do just as I had seen my friends do…sit and sulk and throw a pity party, instead I threw a praise party this morning!

God never promised us that this life would be easy nor did he say that when we followed HIM that we wouldn’t go through trials. Trials test our faith. 1 Peter 1:6-9 says “In this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while you may have had to suffer grief in all kinds of trials. These have come so that your faith—of greater worth than gold, which perishes even though refined by fire—may be proved genuine and may result in praise, glory and honor when Jesus Christ is revealed. Though you have not seen him, you love him; and even though you do not see him now, you believe in him and are filled with an inexpressible and glorious joy, for you are receiving the goal of your faith, the salvation of your souls.”

I don’t know about you but I want to be proven genuine in my faith. Genuine means “real”, “pure”, “free from hypocrisy”. We’ve got to go through the refinement process meaning the fire aka the trials in order to develop more spiritually and grow closer to HIM. Yes, it’s tough, it’s difficult…but instead of throwing a pity party and asking God “Why me LORD?” Let’s throw a praise party and make HIM the honored guest! Praise HIM for what HE is going to do with this storm in your life! Praise HIM for the spiritual growth that will take place because of it!

Frankly, it’s all about choices. I’ve spent the last twenty four hours evaluating my circumstances and here is what I’ve found. One, I’ve got so many blessings that I can’t begin to count them all. Two, takes me back to number one. Need I say more? Just like the verse from 1 Peter says the result of the trials proves us genuine and may result in praise, glory and honor.

Final thought: Will you chose to praise, give glory and honor HIM regardless of your circumstances? There’s a plaque hanging on my kitchen wall that states this ‘There is always, always, always something to be thankful for – My THANKS and PRAISE goes to the LORD. HOW GREAT IS OUR GOD? Take a few moments today and talk to HIM, thank HIM for his blessings and his goodness; praise HIM regardless of your circumstances.

Heavenly Father, thank you for the greatest gift you gave us, your Son Jesus. We could never begin to count all the blessings you have showered upon us. Forgive us for the times that we have ran away from you in the midst of the storms in our lives instead of running to you. May we always have a heart that seeks hard after you. In Jesus Name, Amen.

Published in: on September 15, 2009 at 7:27 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wailingintodancing.wordpress.com/2009/09/15/open-mouth-insert-spoon/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

  • TwitterChatter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

