Destructive Path of Deceit

Sir Walter Scott wrote “Oh the wicked web we weave when first we practice to deceive” and that is true! Most of us have witnessed this in some form first hand. Whether its in relationships, our job, our families, our lifestyles and sometimes unfortunately we deal with it in our churches today. Hey, some of the biggest snakes I’ve met have sat next to me or behind me in the pew, Amen? Deceitfulness lurks everywhere and we’ve got to be on guard for it.

Let me see if I can break this down a little further. Deceit isn’t just someone lying to us, deceit can be us lying to ourselves. How can I deceive myself you ask? I’ll use myself as an example here. For years I’ve struggled with sinful eating habits. I would tell myself one of something wouldn’t hurt me, just a little more of that, a couple more spoonfuls of that, one more glass of this, etc. 20, 30, 40 lbs later, I regretted all those extra spoonfuls, bowls, cups, plates of food that in my heart I knew were too much but I deceived myself and ate it anyway. By the way, deception has a horrible aftertaste!!

What about you? Are you deceiving yourself? Maybe “deceiving” yourself to believe you can handle just one more store credit card? When you know the budget can’t possibly handle it. Are you “deceiving” yourself to believe that if you had a different husband/wife you’d be happy? When really you just need to work harder on the marriage your in now! What Scott said about deceit was true, when we begin to deceive whether it be someone else or ourselves we start weaving a web of lies and lies lead to destruction!

Let me give you something much better than literary quotes. Let me tell you what the Word of God says…”If we say that we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us. If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. If we say that we have not sinned, we make Him a liar, and His word is not in us. I John Ch.1 Vs 8-10

In the verse above it’s very clear why it is so important that we confess our sins to God. Furthermore why God calls us to be honest with Him, ourselves and others. If we go through life day to day, saying and/or thinking we aren’t sinners, we’ve called Him a liar. God is not to be mocked, he is not a liar.

Final Thought: Are you deceiving yourself today? Are you deceiving others? If so what about? Confess it to God and remember HE is faithful to forgive us and cleanse us from ALL unrighteousness. Be HONEST with God, with yourself and with others.

Heavenly Father, thank you for Jesus! Our only way to the throne. Forgive us of our deceitfulness with others and with ourselves, cleanse us from all of our unrighteousness. We ask this in the name of Jesus, Amen.


Published in: on September 25, 2009 at 12:01 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wailingintodancing.wordpress.com/2009/09/25/destructive-path-of-deceit/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

  • TwitterChatter

    Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

