An Ode To Moms

I must start here by saying I’m 30 years old and I still have no idea what I want to be when I grow up.  There.  I said it.  Is that horrible?  I’m a blessed to be, stay at home mommy of three and wife to one and thats my career.  Too bad they don’t offer college degrees for that right?  Too bad folks don’t give full time moms the credit they deserve either.  Allow me to step up on my soap box for a moment. 😀 I’ve been called lucky, fortunate and blessed.  Along with being accused of  “sitting at home on my bum instead of out looking for a job”.  So sad that people don’t recognize this career of SAHM (<—-Stay At Home Mom) as a full time job.  We don’t just sit on our bums all day, at least I don’t!  We cook, we clean and when I say we clean, I don’t mean we just pick up after people!  I mean we scrub toilets, sinks, dishes, floors, tubs, walls, furniture, etc.  We do laundry, fold it, put it away and go through the process again and again, it’s never done!!!  We do homework, we bathe smelly children, we referee sibling arguments, kiss boo boos, tell bedtime stories sometimes more than twice, pray and worry and pray and worry some more over these little creatures we call our children, we cook some more, we clean some more, we do some more laundry, on and on…Do you see any time for just sitting around on our bums???  I don’t think so!!!  Pay?  I’m sorry did you say pay?  Ha!  There is no pay!

Now on to the mom who does all of the above AND has a full time or part time job.  I just heard a hush fall over all of you.  The hair just stood up on my arms.  You know why?  Because we should ALL salute her!  So many of the women are leaving their homes because of the economy and going to work full time.  They no longer have the luxury of staying at home with their children full time.  They take full and part time jobs.  Some of them second or third shift.  They sacrifice time with their children in order to provide for them.  I have one question for those moms, WHEN do you sleep?

I encourage all of you moms out there today to stay strong, keep the faith and know that you are not alone.  God sees every deed, He sees our struggles, He sees our joys and the reward that awaits us is Great.

Below are some quotes I found on Moms.  Enjoy!

“Being a full time mother is one of the highest salaried jobs in my field, since the payment is pure love.” -Mildred B. Vermont

“A suburban mothers role is to deliver children obstetrically once, and by car forever.” -Peter De Vries

“The phrase working mother is redundant.” -Jane Sellman

“If evolution really works, how come mothers only have two hands? -Milton Berle

“Any mother could perform the jobs of several air traffic controllers with ease.” -Lisa Alther

“All mothers are working mothers.”- Author Unknown

Quotes provided by the Quote Garden http://www.quotegarden.com

Published in: on October 22, 2009 at 7:18 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wailingintodancing.wordpress.com/2009/10/22/an-ode-to-moms/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

  • TwitterChatter

    Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

