The Heart Of Compassion

I was overcome with bitterness, anger and resentment.  I’ve tried my hardest to love this person, to deal with them in the best christian manner that I know how.  I’ve reached out at times when most people would have slammed the door, then other times I’ve been the one to slam the door, admittingly.  Over the past year, I’ve prayed fervently for God to do a great work in this persons life.  They have so much to live for.  But it seems as though my prayers have just not quite made it passed the ceiling.  While I know thats not true, God has heard them, it’s just not time yet.  For whatever reason, it’s just not His time yet.

As I said above, I’ve recently found myself at my wits end with this person, I’ve been hurt and stressed out over situations involving them.  I’ve found myself asking the Lord “Why?  Why do you let this person live their life this way?  Why don’t you do something to get their attention?  They get to live and do and act however they want and with what seems to be without any consequences whatsoever!?”  With a huff, I went on about my housework and about ten minutes later I felt a strong urge to sit down and open God’s word.  As I sat down on the sofa, I asked the Lord what He wanted me to read.  I immediately felt a small voice say to me “compassion”.

I went to the general index of my bible and looked up compassion and wrote down all the scriptures that it referenced.  I went to each of those scriptures.  The first scripture was Psalms 86:15 says “But You, O Lord, are a God full of compassion, and gracious, Longsuffering and abundant in mercy and truth”.  The second scripture was Matthew 9:36 which says “But when He (Jesus) saw the multitudes, He was moved with compassion for them, because they were weary and scattered, like sheep having no shepherd”.

I must admit after reading these two verses alone, I was convicted.  While yes, this person has hurt me, they’ve hurt my family and done us wrong but I’m guilty too because I’ve not been as compassionate as I should be.  Compassion is something that must be practiced.  It must be perfected.  Forgiveness and Compassion go hand in hand. 

I’ll be the first to admit, it’s one of the hardest things in the world to do!  To have compassion on folks who’ve done you wrong, to forgive those who’ve hurt you, who’ve hurt your children.  Jesus tell us in Luke Chapter 6 starting in verse 32 to love our enemies, do good to those that hate us and to do it and EXPECT NOTHING IN RETURN and our reward will be great and we will be sons and (daughters) of the Most High.  Jesus goes on to tell us that He is kind and merciful to the evil and unthankful.

I so long to be just like Jesus, period.  In pursuing this I know I must press on in forgiveness and loving those who wrong me, even those that I don’t think are so deserving of it.  Bottomline is, it doesn’t matter what Renae thinks, what matters is what God thinks and he thought enough of mankind to send a Shepherd to herd the sheep (us).  That shepherd could be described as having a heart full of compassion, forgiveness, mercy, those are just a few, a very few of the things that I can list when I begin to describe my Lord.  What word comes to mind when you think of Him?  I encourage you to praise Him for his compassion and mercy on you today.

Heavenly Father, you are my Shepherd.  Thank you for leading me out of a life of darkness and into a life thats filled with your love and compassion.  Thank you for your never ending mercy.  Forgive me for falling short in showing others this compassion and forgiveness.  In Jesus Name, Amen.

 

Published in: on November 4, 2009 at 5:21 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wailingintodancing.wordpress.com/2009/11/04/the-heart-of-compassion/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Great words of Truth!!

  2. Oh Renae… God has used you again to get through my thick skull. I needed this blog. HE knew that. What a blessing! Thank you for sharing. XOXO

  3. Forgivess is the word that comes to my mind when I think of Jesus. You have found the thing you should be when you grow up! Always encourging, always a friend of truth and a daughter in Christ praising the Word.


Leave a Reply

  • TwitterChatter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

