Finding Jesus In A Slum…

A few weeks before Thanksgiving I received an email from Pastor Diwakar Wankhede from Mumbai, India.  He had stumbled upon my blog through the blogspot website.  He saw that I had a heart for the people of India and the oppression in which they suffer there and asked if I along with my husband would consider taking a short term missions trip to Mumbai and visiting the slums there in which he ministers.  Pastor Diwakar and I have emailed back and forth several times over the past couple of weeks and I’ve been delighted and burdened all at the same time.  While I rejoice in the work that is taking place there in the slums and praise God over those that are meeting Jesus through the various ministries that Pastor Diwakar is part of there, my heart is greatly burdened for the people of India.

The extreme poverty and struggle for survival are a large problem for the major cities in southeast Asia.  Almost 25% of the population of these areas live in slums.  Open sewage, polluted water, lack of health care, poorly educated or no education at all, famine and diseases such as AIDS are just some of the battles these unreached people face daily.  The unemployment rates are soaring!  Most have to resort to begging, stealing and prostitution to be able to eat.  There are no social agencies in place to help these people like there is here in the United States.  Aren’t we blessed?

I told Pastor Diwakar today through email that I would post his prayer requests on my blog today.  Would you join me in knee bending for these people?  These are God’s people.  We might look at them as some far off, distant problem, someone else’s problem in a 3rd world country, but these people ARE OUR BROTHERS AND SISTERS. These people are God’s people.

Do you recall what Jesus said in Matthew Chapter 25?  When he was speaking to the disciples about seeing those in need and passing them by?  Starting in verse 35 he says, “For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.  Then the righteous will answer Him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink?  When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you?  When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’  “The King will reply, “I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.’ end verse 40.

These people need Jesus.  They need Jesus just like you and I need Him.  Please join me in prayer for Pastor Diwakar and his ministry by praying for the following.

-Pray for the Tailoring School that provides education for the women in the slums where they learn new skills like sewing and also teach them how to save money from the little earning they make.

-Pray for the Nutrition Program that currently helps feed malnourished children and pregnant women.

-Pray for the Kindergarten program and the children who attend school there.

-Pray for the Revolve Fund Program which gives small loans to the slum people so they can start small businesses on their own and earn a living and live life with dignity.

-Please pray for the JESUS film ministry that is present in this slum.

-Please pray for the country of India as a whole.  There are several hundred other slums throughout Mumbai that have no such ministries taking place presently.  Pray that the Gospel of JESUS would spread rapidly throughout India.

Starting today, I am taking up monetary donations for Pastor Diwakar’s ministry in Mumbai.  If you would like to donate, please contact me at 252-937-7956 or email me at renae.williford@gmail.com Would you open your heart and give to these indigenous people?  Would you help share Jesus with a child by supporting the ministries taking place in this slum?

Heavenly Father, we lift up Pastor Diwakar and the ministry that is taking place in the slums of Mumbai to you today.  I ask LORD, that you would touch each life there in a special way.  Please relieve their suffering, show us how we can use the resources you’ve so richly blessed us with to help them.  I pray that in whatever we give, whatever we send, that you would bless it and use it to build up your kingdom.  Most importantly I pray that souls would come to know you as Lord and Savior.  I pray that you would touch their bodies and heal their sicknesses.  Keep them safe, somehow provide food for them.  Lord, forgive us of our greedy ways.  I pray that we will humble ourselves before you and with willing hearts submit all we have to be used in your service.  We ask these things in your name, Jesus.  Amen.


Published in: on December 3, 2009 at 4:20 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wailingintodancing.wordpress.com/2009/12/03/finding-jesus-in-a-slum/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

  • TwitterChatter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

