The Old Ball And Chain

We all have a ball and chain.  Something ugly about us that we war against.  For some it might be an internal issue, for others external.  And when I say war against it, I mean we battle against this demon day in and day out.  We awake and it’s there and throughout our day we wrestle with it and at night, it is all but singing us to sleep.

My ball and chain for most of my teenage years and my entire adult life has been a battle of the bulge.  If I could have picked my addiction, I certainly would not have picked this one!  It is such an obvious one.  So here it is…”My name is Renae and I’m a foodaholic.”  This has been as expensive as any drug addiction out there when you consider the cost of clothes, the cost of diet plans, the cost of all the food I’ve shoveled (literally) into my mouth the last 15 or so years, it’s been quite expensive.  When you add in a sweet Italian husband (whose so Italian that sometimes I swear there is Ragu sauce running through his veins)  into the mix with the same addiction, the cost only doubles along with the troubles.  Don’t get me wrong, our marriage is full of bliss, blessing and lots of lovin’ but we’ve been “partners in crime” in packing on the pounds together!

What he and I have both realized is not only are our weights dangerously unhealthy, we’ve not been able to interact with our kids physically like we wanted but also and most importantly our bodies were not glorifying God in the way that He created us to be.  Now when you sit down and you read scriptures like Romans 12:1 “I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that you present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable to God, which is your reasonable service.”  Proverbs 13:25 “The righteous eats to the satisfying of his soul, But the stomach of the wicked shall be in want.”  Proverbs 23:20 “Do not mix with winebibbers, Or with gluttonous eaters of meat; For the drunkard and the glutton will come to poverty, and drowsiness will clothe a man with rags.” if you are like me, I realized this overeating wasn’t just a biological trait, it was S-I-N!  I know!  I know!  It’s not politically correct to call downfalls sin anymore, but that is exactly what gluttony is!  My eating habits were not pleasing God.  Period.  I was not and have not been presenting my body a living sacrifice.  Hello!  There it was in my face…scripture plain as day, “Renae you are not pleasing God.”  I couldn’t deny it any longer.  Maybe you are just like me and seeking to find freedom from your ball and chain, hopefully you will realize that the answers are in Gods word.  God desires to fill us, to satisfy us and to help us overcome.  We can cut the ball and chain loose but not by ourselves.

19 pounds ago I was introduced to an online bible study called “Setting Captives Free” http://www.settingcaptivesfree.com it’s a site devoted to helping people overcome food, alcohol and drug addiction.  If you are being held captive by addiction and feel that you are stuck and won’t ever be free, that this is just who you are, don’t believe it!  There is freedom in Christ!  Now I must warn you, it’s not a “get skinny quick, praise the Lord” kind of program!  Its intense!  Its biblical and it was just what I needed.  It’s not a pill, powder or even a diet plan and there is no cost involved.  It is absolutely FREE.  Let me put it this way, Christ has already paid for it!

If we truly seek to be free, He will free us.  Amazing things happen when we submit willing hearts to Christ.  His word is powerful, it lifts us up, it heals, it corrects us when we are wrong, it encourages us.  2 Timothy 3:16 says “All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness. I don’t know about you, but I need God’s truth, I need his instruction, I need him to correct me and guide me, especially when it comes to my “ball and chain” but not just that, in this every day, hour to hour life that he has given me as well.

Lord, you set the captives free on Calvary more than 2000 years ago!  Thank you, Lord, that by your grace we are set free!  In Christs Name, Amen!

Published in: on December 10, 2009 at 1:57 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wailingintodancing.wordpress.com/2009/12/10/the-old-ball-and-chain/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I admire your honesty and desire to be healthy. He will give you the desires of your heart, that’s a promise!
    I’m impressed that you’ve lost 19 pounds. Using weight gradually is always the best way.
    God is using you to inspire others to be set free. We all have our struggles, but nothing is too difficult for God!!!

  2. Thank you for sharing this. It is wonderful! I too had to deal with a ball and chain that I was attached to. It was a few years ago almost cost me my marriage, family, and life. I finally got serious about giving my life to Christ and He has freed me from that ball and Chain. But there are more things still here to be worked on. Not as big and serious as the last, but realizing not dealt with they could be. Thank you for letting God work through you to remind me to continue to seek Him and work on those ball and chains! TO GOD BE THE GLORY.

  3. I couldn’t have said it better myself! Those who believe and trust in the Lord Jesus Christ have the master “key” to those balls and chains. Oh, if we would just use it. Great post Renae.


Leave a Reply

  • TwitterChatter

    Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

