Compliments, Daggers & Reactions

The holidays are fun, festive and bring a sense of warmth to our lives, at least they do that for some of us.  While for others, the holidays are a time of debating, scheduling, conflict and well I might as well say it, arguing.  As I’ve spent time talking to friends and relatives I’ve found so many commenting about how they love the holidays but there is always something dreadful about a get together, an office party, a gathering etc.  It usually involves a specific person, a past spat or exchange of words that leaves them uneasy and slightly dreading their upcoming events.

I’ve been guilty of this too.  Might I suggest we take two pieces of advice I’ve used over the last year that have actually worked and have really helped me just, get over it!  One, I read in the bible study “What Happens When Women Say Yes To God” by Lysa Terkeurst, “Never let others compliments go to your head or their criticisms go to your heart”.  I have a tendency to take things personally if you catch me in the wrong mood.  I’ll replay something in my head and think, “did they mean for that to sound that way?”  Lets face it, some people are just mean, period.  They are out to hurt us, even at Christmas!  I know, big shocker, right???  Let’s not take the flattery too serious or the daggers that come our way.  Lets also realize sometimes we take things too personal.  Things get worded wrong or just come out wrong, no ill harm meant.  Same goes for compliments.  I once heard from a very wise pastor that compliments and flattery were like great smelling cologne, they smell magnificent but you don’t want to drink them!

Second piece of advice is this, “we are not responsible for others actions but we ARE responsible for our reactions.”  This probably isn’t the most grammatically correct way of putting this but some folks just don’t act right, that don’t mean you got to act up too!  Lets put out there what we want to receive from others in return but with a twist, let’s NOT expect it in return.  Uh huh, you read it right, let’s not expect others to act so graciously in return.  How about lets just be responsible for ourselves and know that there is a loving father watching over ALL of His children.  The good, bad and yes, even the ugly.

Go to your parties, your gatherings and your events!  Have fun, be merry, spread cheer and lets not forget THE most important thing, let your light shine for JESUS!

Merry Christmas!

Published in: on December 21, 2009 at 1:44 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wailingintodancing.wordpress.com/2009/12/21/compliments-daggers-reactions/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Okay girl, you did it again. You allowed God to use you, and HE did to get to me. Something childish and petty went down in the MQ parking lot yesterday (new building – we have hang tags and a group of #-ed spaces in which we can park). Someone left an extremely rude hand-written letter *on a HCFA form, no less* stating I had parked in THEIR spot (space 1) and to never do it again. It came from a co-worker, though I don’t know who… I’m thinking not a coder… but we don’t have assigned parking. We are allowed to park in any spaces 1-10 and 72-75. So I blew up. Called Patty and yelled. Emailed Melissa and complained. And spent all night festering over getting to work early enough today to ensure I snagged parking space 1 again… this time out of spite.

    Out of spite!? Did I just say that? Yes!! So all morning long I have been praying boldly. I am always SO adamant about not being spiteful, and here I’m stewing up something for it? That isn’t me. God knows that. So HE sent me to your blogsite.

    I did not have the chance to read your new entries yesterday. It was an extremely busy day, but now I also know it was obvious that I didn’t need to read them yesterday (because it would have been prior to “the note” incident.) I needed to be reminded this morning that my reaction to this situation needs to be positive; to reflect my source of light… HIM! Not necessarily to show them who is the better person – because I am a sinner just as they are – but to show them that bitterness, hatred, and arrogance does NOT live in my heart – the same heart in which Jesus resides. I do not need to let their problems become my problems. I simply need to pray for them.

    Thank you Heavenly Father for giving me the time to think over my reaction before I did something that would misrepresent YOU and my life that I have committed to YOU. Thank you LORD for continuing to use my dear friend Renae to get thru to someone as stubborn as me. I pray that you will continue to bless her with this communication. I also pray that you touch the heart of my co-worker who thinks space 1 is theirs. Praise YOU, GOD, that YOU are the only ONE who fills my space #1. In Jesus Name, Amen.


Leave a Reply

  • TwitterChatter

    Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

