Where Is The On/Off Switch?

Salvation in Jesus, and the faith we practice doesn’t come with an on/off switch that you can flip to turn your faith one way or the other. If you are on fire for God, once the switch has been turned on, it’s on for good! There is no cutting it off. There is no switch. The source of the power is eternal, a power from which we will never receive a disconnect notice or fading signal.

Psalm 18:2 The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer; My God, my strength, in whom I will trust; My shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.

Now, I know some “flip floppers”. Folks that talk a good game on Sunday, and early Monday morning but by mid week or most certainly on Friday evening their real self begins to seep through. Christians for about 36 hours a week OR when life calls for them to be a christian. I know them well, I used to be one. Thankfully, when God calls us out, washes us clean, redeems us and sets our feet on a new path- He ignites a flame in us. God intends for us to be scalding hot for Him. There is no halfway or luke warm. You are either very hot or not. There is no in between with God. That is one of the things I love so much about God, and His word! It’s black and white, no gray. No room to play.

This fire is a burning from deep within our hearts that we desire to tend to consistently. You might ask, “how do you tend to it”? You tend to it by praying, and reading His word. You devote yourself wholly to Him, and through that you become holy. When you turn from the desires of this world, and follow Jesus you realize that not only is there not an on/off switch, you also realize that you would never want there to be one.

Luke 3:16 John answered, saying to all, “I indeed baptize you with water; but One mightier than I is coming, whose sandal strap I am not worthy to loose. He will baptize you with the Holy Spirit and fire.

I have Jesus. Once you have Him, why would you ever want to shut Him out? I don’t want a switch, a door, a wall or anything else to turn off, close out or come between me, and my great King, the lover of my soul! There is a joy, a pureness, and a contentment that you have when Jesus lives inside of you, and the only way to know these things is to have Him, to know Him personally, and experience Him daily.

Father, I long for the lost to know you. I pray that they will see those of us who carry the eternal flame, and that the flame (You) will draw them in so that they will come to know you personally. Continue to draw me closer to you. In Jesus Name, Amen.

Published in: on January 27, 2010 at 1:50 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://wailingintodancing.wordpress.com/2010/01/27/where-is-the-onoff-switch/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Great blog Renae. I have thought about your last blog so much……in fact, a lot! Isn’t it just like God to use our past (our smelly stuff) for His honor and glory; to witness to and lead others to Him. All I can say is, Lord if that’s what I must do then so be it. I know He anoints it.


Leave a Reply

  • TwitterChatter

    Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

